Blog

My Adventure in Plotting

Hello There!

This is my first blog post and I wanted to write about my experience in plotting this novel.  Plotting is hard for me to do but after looking up tips and tricks on Pinterest I decided to defeat this dragon! The first thing I did was make a list of obstacles that my character will face in the novel. Now using this list, I made a broad outline. Once I completed that I decided to try Rowling’s plotting method of having a grid that includes different plots and arcs that you will weave together through out each chapter. That was honestly one of the hardest things I had too do but it also helped me understand my characters and world better. It took four long hours but I finished it and outlined a novel that is over thirty chapters long. I was extremely proud of myself for using this method to plot and it really did help me create a deep novel and complex characters  while having a nice flow.

One thing I need to remind myself when I actually start writing this adventure is that this outline is flexible, I can add or cut out certain things. Plotting is helpful because it gives a nice backbone to the novel so it is harder to get off track, but it can also be changed along the way. Honestly, I would use this process again for future novels!

I wish you luck on your writing,

~Caitlin

Leave a Reply

