Writing

Balancing Writing and School

Hello There!

Today I will be sharing how I have been balancing my college course work with my writing life. 

   I am currently in my senior year of college and I am also working on my fantasy novel so having a way to balance the course load while writing is key to keep me from getting too stressed out. I personally keep a schedule so I can remember my assignments for the classes and their due dates. The urge to write can hit you suddenly but I can not stress enough how important it is to go to class. Do not skip class for a writing urge, all it takes is one missed day to fall behind in your college courses. I know from personal experience how difficult it can be to focus but at least show up and jot down your writing in a notebook while listening to the lecture so you don’t fall behind while also writing important things for your novel.

Here is a peak into my  schedule for the days that I spend at home:

  • Wake up and  take my ADD medication while eating breakfast~
  • Do homework ~
  • Write for blog~
  • Work on Novel~

I find  this simple schedule helps me work on assignments and my writing! School can be overwhelming sometimes but it is important to know that you can do the homework and work on your novel! This balance is key to keep your from stressing and becoming discouraged. It has taken me quite some time to master this balance but I think that I have finally reached the point where I can handle school and writing. The balance can be quite tricky to master because it is different for everyone but once you find it you will be able to accomplish so much. Whether it is making a schedule, creating to do lists, or dedicating certain days for either school or writing you can find your own way to balance. This could also be applied to balancing work and writing as well!

I hope you found this post helpful and I wish you luck on your literary journey,

~Caitlin

Leave a Reply

